Writing Files using...

Notifications
Clear all

Writing Files using Javascript to wine File System in Emscripten  

RSS

HamburgerTime
(@hamburgertime)
07/01/2021 1:23 am  

Hello. I am currently working with your Emscripten project and I am kind of new to emscripten/development. My question what functions/objects should I be using to interact with the wine file system through javascript (not through wine).

Any help would be appreciated. I am doing stack traces on various points but this all seems pretty overwhelming to me so I thought I would reach out. 

Also, thank you for making this project it is quite impressive to me.

HamburgerTime
(@hamburgertime)
07/01/2021 1:43 am  

Just to be clear writing/reading would be done after wine has been fully loaded

ReplyQuote
James Bryant
(@admin)
Member Admin
07/01/2021 1:53 am  

I'm not sure what you are trying to do.   Are you trying to modify/add/remove files that Wine or the app uses while it is running?

If you are editing a file while the file is not open, that might work.  But add/remove file while running will cause trouble because Boxedwine caches the file system entries in memory, so it knows which files are in which directory and won't query those directories again.

But it is fine to change the file system before launching Boxedwine.  You can also modify the file system zip for permanent changes.

ReplyQuote
HamburgerTime
(@hamburgertime)
07/01/2021 2:36 am  

Hello, thanks for the reply and I am sorry for not being clear. Yes I am trying to modify files while Wine is running.

Editing a file would be sufficient for what I am trying to do, as I would not be writing to/accessing the file through javascript when the app in wine reads it.

So you are saying a way around it would be just to create dumby files at boot then write to them, given the system is not accessing these files while conducting a write? 

Thank you so much for the help I really appreciate it.